My Open Source Contributions to the Fedora Project During the Outreachy Contribution Phase

My Open Source Contributions to the Fedora Project During the Outreachy Contribution Phase

Hello, I'm Roseline Bassey. Over the past 4 weeks as an Outreachy applicant, I've had the chance to put my knowledge to use, acquire new knowledge, and make significant contributions to an open source project. This portfolio is a collection of my contributions to the Fedora Project during the Outreachy contribution phase. Below you will find summaries and relevant links for various projects I've worked on, including building static sites, creating social media posts, and authoring articles.

Pre-requisite Tasks

These are prerequisite tasks for all applicants aiming to qualify for the Fedora Community Architect Outreachy internship. They include:

Fedora Outreachy Onboarding Process (Issue 140)

Step 1: Setting up Fedora Account System (issue 153)

Step 2: Setting up a personal blog (issue 154)

Step 3: Writing an introductory blog about Fedora Project, Fedora Linux, and the Community (issue 155)

  • Wrote an introductory blog post to introduce the Fedora community to my audience. The link to the blog post can be found here.

Step 4: Promoting blog post on Social Media Platforms (issue 156)

  • I promoted the blog post written in Step 3 on various social media platforms to boost awareness.

  • Links to promotions: LinkedIn & Twitter

Step 5: Develop an onboarding Guide for Outreachy 2025 Applicants (issue 157)

  • I developed a step-by-step guide to assist Outreachy 2025 applicants, clarifying doubts and enhancing their chances of acceptance.

  • Here's the link to the blog post

Stretch Tasks

Personal Assigned Tasks

This section outlines tasks specifically assigned to me and those tickets I opened and got assigned to.

1. Create a Fedora Docs site for the Accessibility Working Group:

This involved building a dedicated Fedora Docs site for the Accessibility Working Group to promote their work and message.

Outcome:

  • The Fedora Accessibility Working Group now has a dedicated docs site to publish their team information and key information.

Key learnings and deliverables:

This task was my first contribution to the Fedora docs site and it came with a lot of learning opportunities including:

  • Improving my collaboration skills using Git

  • Learning about AsciiDoc and Antora

  • Understanding how the Fedora Docs site is built.

2. Add vision and mission statements to a11y docs homepage:

I proposed adding vision and mission statements to the Accessibility WG's docs homepage to showcase their message to the public.

Outcome:

  • The vision and mission statements were added to the a11y homepage.

3. What's new in F40 Workstation:

I am working with the Fedora Magazine team to write an article about the latest updates and fixes in Fedora Workstation 40. I have shared a WordPress preview of the article and addressed feedback I received on the initial draft.

4. Social Media Posts for Fedora 40 DNF 5 Test Day

Contributed to the promotion and outreach efforts of the DNF 5 Test Day event by developing social media posts.

5. Moving Fedora Ready compatible devices to Fedora Docs

I have created a new page called "fedora-ready" in the Fedora Marketing docs. This will serve as a central hub where people can obtain information on computers compatible with Fedora. This list was initially created by one of the mentors -Joseph in Fedora discussion. The list has been moved to a dedicated page that features vendors and products that come with Fedora preinstalled, support, or may work with Fedora.

Outcome:

  • The Fedora marketing docs will have a new page where people can obtain information on computers compatible with Fedora.

Key learnings and deliverables:

This will be my second contribution to the Fedora docs site, this time, under Marketing docs. It presents many opportunities to learn:

  • Collaboration using Git

  • About AsciiDoc and Antora

  • More about how the Fedora Docs site is built.

First merge request

The new page will be accessible at: https://docs.fedoraproject.org/en-US/marketing

6. List all Slimbook products that offer Fedora preloaded

  • I made a list of all Slimbook's products offering Fedora as an option for pre-installation

  • The list can be found in this comment on GitLab.

Biggest Contributions

My biggest contribution to the Fedora project during the Outreachy contribution stage was writing an article about the cool features and fixes in the Fedora Workstation 40. This task helped me learn a lot more about Fedora Workstation and GNOME, and it also made my technical writing skills better.